My last full week at The Seeing Eye

I haven’t posted on here in a while. Last week was full of adventure! I’ve just been working on freelance trips with Ilo and enjoying every minute! We’ve worked on navigating roped lines, going to coffee shops, the pet store, navigating a local university, and even going on leisurely walks. I know I’ve said this before, but I find it so surreal how every day I learn to trust him more and more. I learn to follow his movements, and also know when he’s getting distracted, in the beginning I couldn’t differentiate the two. throughout these past few weeks we’ve had many ups, some downs, but overall this whole journey has been an amazing experience. I am extremely happy with my school choice, I have a phenomenal dog, and I couldn’t be more happy!

I can’t believe that in just a few days I will be home with Ilo! I am excited, but I must say I definitely will miss everyone at the school. Everyone here has become my second family, my fellow classmates have been very supportive, we all have a good time, and overall we just all have a great dynamic. You very rarely can have over 10 people living under the same roof and everyone getting along, so the fact that everyone does is amazing! I’ll miss all of the random weird songs being played in the common lounge, all the weird but funny jokes, and all of the great conversations. There has never been a doll moment at the Seeing eye.

Today was absolutely phenomenal, I went to NYC with Ilo and it was so liberating! Ilo navigated the city like a champ! I went around people and obstacles, we just breeze down each block, it was the first time in a long time that I fully enjoyed a walk and my worries of getting disoriented or bumping into someone went away because of this lovely boy. I admit that when I woke up this morning I was extremely nervous about going to the city, because I know how noisy and crowded it is, and I haven’t been there since I lost my vision. I almost changed my mind about going because I was worried that it would be too much. But I’m extremely happy that I went, I enjoyed every minute of it! I had such a carefree time, and I know that if I can handle New York City, I can handle my university and hometown with no problems! It was so gratifying to be able to navigate a new area so freely with no fear or hesitation. Which is something I struggled with a lot before coming here for a guide dog. I sometimes would even decide to stay home rather than going to a new area because I didn’t want to have to go through the hassle of hitting something with my cane, trying to figure out what it is, and what way is best to go around said object, instead I can just worry about where I’m going and know that Ilo will smootly guide me around objects, and I will no longer have to worry about what the object even is.

In just a short amount of time I have developed so much love for this handsome little guy, sometimes I think about it and I can’t believe that it’s only been three weeks. It feels like we’ve been together for a longer amount of time. I love his cuddles, how excited he gets when we play, and most of all I love when he curls up on my lap. It is the funniest and cutest thing ever, this huge dog curls up in a ball when I sit crisscross applesauce. Everyone here always makes fun of me because I’m always on the floor with him on my lap, but I love it! Even though sometimes he makes my legs go numb haha. He is such a love bug, we are definitely a great match!

Until tomorrow, good night from me and Ilo!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started